Importing maps from BERDS: Reprojection using ogr2ogr and shp2pgsql

I am constantly impressed by the BERDS database for Belize. It is powered by POSTGIS, and also offers downloads of some coverages as shapefiles in UTM. I have just downloaded and imported Jan Meerman’s fire risk map into my POSTGIS system. I did it in two steps that I have found to be generally more robust than trying to use ogr2ogr. directly. First reproject to a new shapefile then import the result using shp2pgsql. I am not sure why this process results in fewer errors, but it does seem to work with some difficult imports I have been attempting (although this particular example is very clean).

ogr2ogr -f “ESRI Shapefile” belizefire.shp -t_srs EPSG:4326 -s_srs EPSG:2028 firerisk.shp

shp2pgsql -s 4326 -c belizefire belizefire mydb | psql -d mydb

Leave a Reply

